Update Regarding Dialysis

Hey everyone. It’s been quite some time since I’ve (J) posted an update regarding dialysis, my transplants and my health in general so I thought that I would do so today. Treatments have been going good when I’m able to make it to them. Sometimes finances are an issue and other times it’s due to the weather. Winter in Canada can be a little unpredictable around this time of year. Here anyways. For example, we went from being in the -30’s w/ the windchill to +10 the other day and it’s currently +1 and snowing. Then the temperatures are expected to drop back into the -20’s again. Anywho, my phosphorus and potassium were elevated this month so the Dr cut back on the potassium bath (as they call it) that is circulated with our blood during treatments. My phosphorus went down on its own which is something that happens often so we weren’t too concerned about it. Other than that, I’m up to date with all my yearly tests for the transplant team in Montreal. They have the results of my thyroid test and everything is looking great. Stopping the tapazole two months ago was a good thing I guess. My thyroid is no longer overactive although I have to wait and see if the Dr thinks I should go for the radiation treatment or if the tapazole burnt my thyroid from the prolonged use.

Update-Regarding-Dialysis

Lately, my shoulders have been bothering me extremely bad. I’m not sure if I’ve already mentioned that I was diagnosed with Rotator Cuff Tendonitis or not? The cartilage in my shoulders is deteriorating and I need cortisone injections in order to “refill” the empty pockets left behind by the deterioration. The best way that I can describe the pain from the bone grinding on the bone is like having a major toothache except it’s in your shoulders! Just my luck though, my doctor is off sick and I need a referral to see the Orthopedic surgeon. Painkillers are slightly helping with the pain but they aren’t anything strong other than a bit of codeine and Tylenol. The pharmacist suggested that I talk to my doctor about pain meds that they use to help with diabetic nerve pain which is also something I suffer from. Diseases suck!!! *After reading the article linked above, I’ve come to the realization that the aching that I’m experiencing is something worse than tendonitis and needs to be looked at so I’ll be going to the clinic after dialysis today to see if I can get a referral to have an MRI and CT scan.

 

So that’s basically what’s been up in regards to my health and dialysis treatments. Nothing really new but an update for you guys regardless. I’ll try to keep you updated more often as more happens. Until then, have an awesome 2018!

  

For more information about my dialysis treatments & transplants please check out & subscribe to my GoFundMe campaign.

 

BE SURE TO CHECK OUT/FOLLOW OUR OTHER SOCIAL MEDIA ACCOUNTS:

Facebook

Twitter (Holly)

Twitter (Jay)

Instagram

Youtube

Pinterest

 

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.